McKinney Emerging Leader

Named in honor of Maxine McKinney, who has served as our Executive Director for many years and retired in 2013, The Maxine McKinney Emerging Leader Scholarships are an opportunity for staff members to receive free registration for the annual training conference each spring.

The Scholarship Committee gives preference to those who are presenting a workshop at the conference and/or to those who showcase their leadership qualities and aspirations on the application. As the name Emerging Leaders implies, we are interested in encouraging leadership growth and development among our staff.

2020 Scholarship Winners:

  • Donyell Trapp – Greater Mount Vernon Community Head Start
  • Meseret Tekabe – Norther Virginia Family Service
  • Cynthia Morris – Orange County Head Start
  • Steph Haden – MACAA
  • Kasey Feldt – The Children’s Center
  • LaToya Richardson – The Children’s Center
  • Amber Wimbish – STEP, Inc.
  • Kelsey  Cummings – Rooftop of Virginia

2019 Scholarship Winners:

  • Tonya Murphy  – Hampton Roads CAP Head Start Program/Early Head Start
  • Shawna Cage – Hampton Roads CAP Head Start Program/Early Head Start
  • Felicia Holley – Hampton Roads CAP Head Start Program/Early Head Start
  • Jenean Simms – Orange County Head Start
  • Tabitha Washington – Orange County Head Start
  • Kellie Russell – Scott County Public Schools Head Start
  • Kathleen Kilgore – STEP, Inc.
  • Brandy Ferguson – STEP, Inc.

2018 Scholarship Winners are:

  •  Faith Thomas – Scott County Head Start
  • Carol Marvin – Shenandoah Valley Head Start
  • Stephanie Kayal – Fairfax County Head Start
  • Jamanda Crosslands – Higher Horizons Head Start
  • Mary Quesenberry – STEP Inc.
  • Dr. James Royall – Hampton Roads CAP
  • Julie Greene – Hampton Roads CAP
  • Latasha Walker – Hampton Roads CAP

Latest News

View All News

© Copyright 2024 Virginia Head Start Association. All rights reserved Branding by Manon Marketing